Skip to main content

DODO V2 公开池

什么是公开池#

故事举例:

你家里的苹果树结了100个苹果,你想要把苹果卖掉换钱。一个最简单的想法是,以恒定价格卖苹果,1$一个苹果。

但是你发现,市场好于预期,好多人都来买苹果,自己手里的苹果越来越少。这时你意识到,价格可能定低了,我本可以卖更多的钱。所以你有了一个点子,卖出的苹果越多,说明大家对苹果的需求越旺盛,我应该以更高价格出售苹果。这时,你有了一条价格曲线。

你的顾客问你,苹果买完如果不想要了,能不能退货啊?(我们假设苹果的保质期无限长)你想了想说,当然可以,我会按照市场价退给你的。

恭喜你!你刚刚建立一个可以买卖苹果的市场!这是一个巨大的进步,因为这赋予了苹果很好的流动性。有些人会考虑到苹果价格会上涨,所以提前买入。买入的数量可能会远远超过他们所需要的,进而把价格推到很高的位置。这就是所谓的流动性溢价。这也是为什么,你需要一个流动性市场。

那么,实现这样一个市场需要什么呢?很简单:

  • 苹果
  • 价格曲线

这就是DODO Vending Machine(自动售货机,以下简称DVM)所实现的,只要提供你的代币,画出你想要的价格曲线,我们就为你生成了这样一个,无人值守,却人人可参与的金融市场!更棒的是,这一过程完全无门槛,无准入!

读到这里,你肯定会问,公有池 有什么具体的应用场景呢?

案例1:低成本建立初始流动性, 支持大容量市场#

你是一名开发者,想要像AC一样建立一个社区项目。那么你可以发行1000w枚代币,其中的1%即10w枚归自己所有。

990w枚对社区开放。如果你要在AMM中为此建立一个市场,你需要另外990w美元作为其买盘,这显然是不现实的。那么你或许会用1000美元和1000token建立一个简单的AMM池。如果有人想要投资10w美元你的代币,他将承受100倍的成本价!这显然是令人望而却步的,你的代币无法建立一个有效的市场。

但是,你可以选择用990w枚代币,以起始价1$,建立一个DODO Vending Machine,并设定k=1,即 bonding curve。如果有社区成员看好你的项目,愿意买入10w枚代币,他的平均价格仅为1.005!市场容量远远大于AMM的解决方案。至于为什么这很重要,我们有一篇更为深入的讨论,会在后面发出来。

案例2:灵活购买(设置)流动性#

例如算法稳定币项目,在一美元以下,需要尽快筹集流动性承接死亡螺旋。如果能在0.9就接住,那将极大巩固市场信心,反之如果在0.5才接住,可能已经导致了不可逆转的死亡螺旋。(意思就是AMM里的大多数买盘对你都没意义)那么你可以这么做,假设你的代币叫X,建立一个DAI-X资金池,设置初始价格为1,k=0.01。

为这个资金池的LP token设置奖励,你就可以筹集到聚集在 1 附近的买盘支撑。资金效率比传统AMM高得多即使不是算法稳定币项目,你也可以在关键支撑点位募集资金,并给予奖励。

案例3:实现合理的市值管理,抑制过分的投机活动#

对大多数刚接触币圈的人来说,这个需求可能难以理解。其实项目早期价格涨太高并不好,过高的价格往往意味着泡沫,会导致很多人被割。

早期支持者被割,就难以形成共识,因此高开低走是非常不利的。抑制投机行为最关键的点是,在低价提供足够多的流动性,让大多数人的成本接近(且较低)。而这正是DVM的灵活性可以支持的。设置i在较低价格,k为较小值即可。

背后的数学#

公开池 同样使用了DODO V1中的PMM算法。也许会有一个疑问,PMM不是根据外部市场实时调整价格吗?公有池中的长尾币也没有外部价格啊。

这里我们就要介绍PMM算法 的本质了:一个压缩的订单簿。公有池利用 PMM 算法布置出了一个价格从 i 到 ∞ 的卖盘流动性。这里的i不再代表外部价格,而是代表起始价格。具体的定价公式如下:

Pmargin=iRP_{margin}=iR

如果B<B0,R=1k+(B0B)2k如果 B<B_0, 则 R=1-k+(\frac{B_0}{B})^2k

以上公式中的B0为最初充值的代币数量,B为当前代币库存。

从公式中可以看出,公有池是一种单边的PMM算法(即始终满足当前代币库存B少于初始代币数量B0),因此其具有如下性质:

  1. 一开始没有Quote 只有Base,只需要项目方代币即可启动,并且代币数量不限
  2. 起始价格为i
  3. 随着代币售出,合约中的BaseToken余额越来越少,价格也越来越高
  4. 买走Base Token的Quote作为买盘流动性,即被消耗的卖盘流动性“翻转”为买盘流动性,因此买盘流动性始终可以支撑卖压
  5. 价格曲线可调,k越小价格变化越缓慢,k越大价格变化越迅速。k=0时为恒定价格,k=1时为bonding curve

补充说明:公有池 允许任何人自由充提,但必须按照当前base和quote的比例。举例,当前价格2$,有100w base 和10w quote,充提都将以base:quote = 10:1的比例发生。这种设计是为了使得充提不影响市场价格。注意,当前价格不影响充提比例,只有库存数量的影响充提比例。

其他#

放在池子里的钱和苹果,为这个市场提供了流动性。而这些钱和苹果,都是有机会成本的。因此我们会向所有交易苹果的人收取手续费补偿给流动性提供者。

当然,你可以管理你在资金池里的资产。即等比例地充提苹果和钱。如果有其它人愿意加入,也可以,他们也可以等比例地充提两种资产。这既不会影响你的资产,也不会影响市场价格。

Skip to main content

DODO Vending Machine

What is DODO Vending Machine#

From Selling Apples to a Liquidity Market

You have an apple tree in your backyard and you recently harvested 100 apples from it. Now you want to set up a stand to sell them. The simplest and most obvious idea is to sell all of them at a constant price, say $1 for an apple.

You soon discover that the market is better than you expected and so many people in the neighborhood are coming to buy your apples that you have fewer and fewer apples in your inventory. That’s when you realize that the price may have been set too low. You figure that the more apples you sell, the stronger the demand for apples is, so you should sell them at a higher price to make a larger profit overall. As the number of apples sold goes up, so does the price.

This relationship is captured by the following pricing curve. The yellow area above the dotted line represents the extra profit you will make by using this new pricing model.

Some of your customers ask you if they can return an apple after they’ve bought it if they don’t want it anymore (let us assume that your apples never go bad).

This refund/buyback policy means that the market for your apples is now two-way: people can buy and sell apples. Congratulations! You’ve just created a market where apples have great liquidity, since apples can now be bought and sold instantly near their fair market value. The apple price will fluctuate as people continue to trade apples. This type of curve, where the price of an asset is dependent on how many have been sold, is known as a bonding curve.

The importance of high liquidity cannot be overstated - a highly liquid market is more efficient and usually associated with less risk.

So what do you need to create such a liquidity market for your apples? The answer is extremely simple:

  • Apples
  • A pricing curve

That’s exactly what the DODO Vending Machine model does. But how does this work in practice?

Use Case 1:#

Suppose you are a blockchain developer and want to build a community-driven project. You can issue 10 million tokens, of which 1% or 100 thousand are for yourself. The rest (i.e. 9.9 million tokens) are distributed to the community and let’s say you set the token price to $1. If you want to create a liquidity market for all 9.9 million tokens on an AMM, you need another $9.9 million as the bid-side liquidity to do it - a huge amount of money that you probably don’t have, and so this project becomes infeasible.

Your alternative is to create a simple AMM pool with much fewer tokens and less liquidity in it, say $1,000 and 1,000 tokens, but if someone wants to invest $100,000 in your project token, he will have to pay $100,000 and receive only 1,000 tokens in return, which amounts to $100 per token, 100x the market price you set! This is, of course, not desirable, and this market is definitely not an efficient market.

However, you can choose to build a DODO Vending Machine with these 9.9 million tokens at an initial price of $1 and with the k value set to 1 (which means the pricing curve is a bonding curve, as discussed above). If a community member is bullish on your project and buys 100,000 tokens, his average price is only $1.005 per token! Much more desirable.

Use Case 2:#

You are a project team with a need to maintain and manage the price of your token. DODO Vending Machine can help you buy and set up liquidity in a flexible manner to achieve your objectives.

Let us use an algorithmic stablecoin that is meant to be pegged to 1 DAI as an example. Call the token X. If X’s token price dips below 1 DAI, then you, the project team, need to raise bid-side liquidity as soon as possible to counter the selling pressure to avoid the death spiral, a vicious cycle where tokens are dumped continuously as the price decreases. If the dumping can be stopped at 1 X = 0.9 DAI, then you will instill confidence in your project’s investors and users, convincing them that you can be trusted to maintain the peg. Conversely, if the dumping stopped at 1 X =0.5 DAI, the consequences could be catastrophic — the lack of liquidity might have already triggered an irreversible death spiral.

So here’s what you can do. You can use DODO Vending Machine to set up a DAI-X pool, set the initial price to 1 X = 1 DAI, and set k to a very small value, say 0.01. In addition, you incentivize liquidity providers to deposit their LP tokens into this pool with rewards in X. This way, you can ensure ample bid-side liquidity that is allocated near 1 X = 1 DAI, which is a much more capital-efficient funding model than traditional AMMs.

Even if it’s not an algorithmic stablecoin project, you can still raise funds for your token at key support price levels with DODO Vending Machine, coupled with a reward incentive program to encourage liquidity provision.

Use Case 3:#

You can use the DODO Vending Machine model to control the magnitude of your token’s pumps in order to discourage speculative trading and the formation of a speculative bubble.

Despite popular hype about new cryptocurrencies dramatically growing in value, it is not good for the price to go up too high in a project’s very early stages. An asset’s price being driven up to unsubstantiated levels often indicates a bubble, which will lead to many people eventually being dumped on by whales and speculators.

The most effective way to curb speculation is to provide enough liquidity at low prices to keep the average token price low for most people. This is exactly the kind of flexibility DODO Vending Machine can provide. To minimize speculation, set i at a low price and k to a small value.

About the math#

DODO Vending Machine also uses the PMM algorithm. Now, you may be thinking, 'doesn't PMM adjust prices in real time based on an oracle? There is no external price for the long tail tokens in the pool'.

You can think of PMM as a compressed order book. DODO vending machine uses the PMM algorithm to arrange a selling liquidity with a price ranging from i to ∞. Here i no longer represents the external price, instead representing the starting price. The specific pricing formula is as follows:

Pmargin=iRP_{margin}=iR

IfB<B0,thenR=1k+(B0B)2kIf B<B_0, then R=1-k+(\frac{B_0}{B})^2k

B0 in the above formula is the number of tokens initially recharged, and B is the current token inventory.

It can be seen from the formula that the pool is a one sided PMM algorithm (the current token amount B is less than the initial token amount B0), so it has the following properties:

  1. In the beginning, there is no quote, so you only need the project's base tokens to start and the amount is unlimited.
  2. The starting price is i.
  3. As base tokens are sold, the balance in the contract decreases and the price increases.
  4. The quote token is used for buying liquidity, and the consumed selling liquidity will be "flipped" into buying liquidity, so buying liquidity can always support selling pressure.
  5. The price curve is adjustable: the smaller the value of k, the slower price changes, the larger the value of k, the faster price changes. When k=0, it is a constant price, when k=1, it is a bonding curve.

By the way, DODO vending machine allows anyone to deposit and withdraw freely, but it must be based on the current ratio of base and quote tokens. For example, if the current token price is 2$, and there are 100k base and 10k quote tokens, the ratio will be base:quote = 10:1. This is designed to make sure that deposits and withdrawals do not affect the token price. Note that the current price does not affect the deposit and withdrawal ratio, only the inventory affects it.

Liquidity Provider Fee#

The base and quote tokens placed in the pool provide liquidity for the market, but providing these tokens incurs opportunity costs for the liquidity providers. To adjust for this, DODO charges a liquidity provider fee to all those who trade these tokens.